I had the Fuji X-Pro 1 since June 2012 … and it was my main camera for 18 months before I got the Nikon Dƒ early 2014. After I got the Dƒ, the X-Pro1 was rarely used, as I was using the Dƒ and Leica M240 most of the times. I decided to convert the X-Pro 1 to Infrared at Life Pixel in April 2015, and I was always waiting for an X-Pro 2 to go along the X-Pro1 IR. I got the X-T1 Silver Graphite end of May 2015, since waiting for an X-Pro2 seemed like waiting for Godo. I had the chance to try the Sony A7II early June 2015, less than 15 days after I got the X-T1….  and suddenly all was clear to me … I sold my Nikon D800E , my whole Fuji system (X-Pro1 IR, X-T1 SG with 14/2.8, 23/1.4 and 56/1.2 and all its accessories), and my Nikon D3s in less than 2 months. Having the Nikon Dƒ, Leica M6/M9/M240 and now the Sony A7II, I didn’t find a reason why the  Fuji X system should stay.

_1010171 - Version 2

Fuji X-T1 with XF35/1.4 vs Sony A7II with FE55/1.8 ZA

NOTE that I am not going to make a direct real life comparison, and I don’t want to go technical, I am just talking about my personal experience and preference and that might not be applicable to all users. Each one of us have different preferences, and I am not here to convince or debate with anyone who might prefer the Fuji X or other systems.

Fuji X-T1 with XF18-135mm vs Sony A7II with FE24-240mm

Fuji X-T1 with XF18-135mm vs Sony A7II with FE24-240mm

Don’t get me wrong, I love the Fuji X system, still do… It’s an excellent mirrorless system with APS-C sensor, it has excellent quality glass. but, for me, it can’t compete with the A7II for the following reasons:

  1. Full Frame sensor vs. APS-C in a similar compact package is a deal breaker for me.
  2. Dynamic Range of the A7II is way better than that of the Fuji X, and this is also due to the larger sensor.
  3. High ISO range of A7II is also better (due to the larger sensor mainly). not forgetting that the ISO on the Sony is usable in RAW from 100-25600 whereas on the Fuji it is 200-6400 only in RAW.
  4. AF speed and accuracy is very similar for both cameras.
  5. I personally prefer the Ergonomics and Controls of the A7II . When you customize it according to your need, you don’t ever have to go through the menu. I know that many of you might prefer the direct control dials of the X-T1. Well I don’t: I find the controls on the X-T1 too cumbersome.
  6. The Video on the Sony is better: and I think we all know that.
  7. Now the Lenses: Yes, Fuji has a more complete line up of lenses. They are excellent. they are a bit more compact (X-T1 with 18-135mm is about as compact as A7II with 24-240mm). They are a bit less expensive. But I don’t have to have all the lenses in the world to enjoy my A7II; I already have the FE1635f4, FE35f2.8ZA, FE55f1.8ZA, FE24240OSS, with Nikon F to E, Leica M to E and Canon FD to E mount adapters… so the choices are endless. You might say that Fuji X has the same option of mount adapters. Yes, True, but a FF lens on a FF sensor works better for me.
  8. Now about the Colors. Many of the Fuji fans love the Fuji for the Fuji colors it gives. Well, I am not a fan of Fuji colors since day one. I enjoyed the X system for the excellent IQ and sharpness it gives and the excellent lenses (mainly fast primes) it has. I find Sony colors more real than the Fuji. And y favorite colors are still Nikon and Leica colors to date.
  9. If for any valid reason (I don’t see any today) I decided to have a more compact APS-C system in the future, I might go with Sony E mount and share my FE lenses with it.
12020034_517939765022607_5743401740677926708_n

the Dials

Today, I say Goodbye Fuji (until you make a  Medium Format Digital Range Finder one day) , and Welcome Sony…

You can check my A7II flickr album HERE

You can check my X-T1 flickr album HERE

You can check my X-Pro1 flickr album HERE

You can check my X-Pro1 IR flickr album HERE

10 thoughts on “Goodbye Fuji, Welcome Sony !

  1. I enjoyed your article. I value the opinions of others in direct proportion to the level of intelligence about the subject of which they write and the sophistication of the presentation.

    By the way, the name of the play by Samuel Beckett to which you made reference in the beginning of the review is ‘Waiting for Godot’ not ‘Waiting for Godo’

    ‘Nuff said!

    Like

  2. I have the d7100 that is now in the dresser.The sensor has the Nikon oil spots. I had a choice of fixing it or get a new camera. I chose to get a new camera which is the A6000. To me that camera out shoots the d7100 any day. I have been very happy with the camera. The only problem which is minor is the manual system no longer works. I make up for that in Aperture and shutter speed modes. Still a great camera!

    Like

Leave a Reply

