My Favorite Gear 2017


 

Too many new entries marked 2017: 2 new mirrorless Medium Format were introduced for the first time: Hasselblad X-1D and Fujifilm GFX. I tried both: The X-1D feels better in the hands, the files look nicer than the Fujifilm but it’s more expensive. The GFX feels more versatile, better featured, faster in Autofocus and in startup. I skipped both, because I am still not tempted by the large format sensor.

I also tried the new Leica M10. The M10 feels better than the M240 in the hands. Files look awesome. But honestly, I didn’t find the upgrade from the M240 worth it, so I decided to skip waiting for a next generation M11.

Sony introduced the A9 and A7rIII in 2017. I decided to go with the A9 for the speed and smaller MegaPixel sensor. 24MP fulfills my photographic needs better.

Olympus came strong with the new OM-D E-MII to Prove that Micro Four Thirds can challenge the best APS-C sensor ILCs with a set of excellent features and an AutoFocus that is hard to beat.


Can you list your Favorite Mirrorless Camera for 2017 ?


 

Here is a list of my favorite I used in 2017

Favorite Interchangeable Lens Camera :  Sony A9, Leica M240, Olympus OM-D E-MII, Sony A6500.

Favorite Lens:  Sony 70-200mm f2.8 GM, Leica 35mm f1.4 Summilux FLE, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Olympus 12-40mm f2.8 Pro

Favorite P&S: Sony RX1r, Sony RX10 Mk III, Sony RX100 Mk V, Sony HX90V

Favorite Bag : Tenba Cooper slim 13 and Tenba Cooper 8

Favorite Strap : Peak Design Straps: all of them

Favorite Tripod : Sirui T052X and Joby Original GorillaPod

Favorite Editing Software : Capture One Pro and Lightroom CC

Favorite Mobile App :Snapseed

Favorite PC : MacBook Air 13” with Touch Bar

Favorite iOS device : Apple IPad Pro 12.9” and Apple iPhone 8 Plus


Leave a comment